south america pants

21 Mar

http://messydirtyhair.com/2013/03/themessyproject-mc-hammer.htmlI was so excited to see Kelly over at Messy Dirty Hair styling some Hammer pants this week with her #TheMessyProject. How mad am I that she got that blog name before me? Pretty mad. How excited was I to see these pants? So pumped.

Let’s back up a hot second. Once a month Kelly hosts #TheMessyProject. Four bloggers participate. She mails them each the same item of clothing. Each lady posts photos of her way of making it her own. Lots of the clothes she picks are a little loud or different from the norm. You can follow this link and see all the outfits posted this month.

So why do I care about these pants? I’m not a fashion blogger, and right now I’ve sworn off shopping. But when I was in Uruguay in January, I bought some equally as loud cheetah pants!

It was at a street fair by the bus stop. I stopped the first time when we arrived in Montevideo. There was a whole rack of cheetah pants! Of course Josh rolled his eyes. They were only $10, but when I started drooling he said, “Shannon, you will never wear those.”

So I passed them up. Then we spent two heavenly days on the beach. We swam. We got sunburnt. We learned to surf. We ate more steak. We ate a giant piece of grilled provolone. But those stinkin’ pants were on the back of my mind.

Bold flowy pants were ALL.THE.RAGE. in South America. Seriously everyone had them. It was the middle of summer, so it all looked so colorful and casual.

The second time we passed them, as we got on the bus to return to the ferry that would eventually take us back to Argentina, I knew they were mine. I bought the pants and Josh bought a blanket. He still thought I was a nut.

I wore them for the eight-hour plane ride home and my parents thought they were pretty funny when I got back to the  States. Now, Kelly is making them popular.

Do I look like I’m wearing jammies or do I look totally fabulous? Can I look both?

cheetah pantsSpecial thanks to Mandy my photog for the shoot in our purple entryway.

 

3 Responses to “south america pants”

  1. erinjoneilErin March 21, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    I’m going to say something shocking…I don’t hate those pants. You’re werkin it.

    • smwhitney March 21, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

      Wow, I was dying to know what you thought of them!

  2. Katie March 21, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    i think you pull them off!

Leave a Reply

