beautiful desserts: delish or disgusting?

1 Mar

Does that read like a Seventeen headline or what?

I think it’s time for a serous topic: cake. The other day I was eating a Minnie Mouse cookie my roommate gave me for Valentines Day. (Thanks Mandy!)

Very adorable (me and the cookie), I know. But the cookie wasn’t totally the most delicious thing ever. (Mandy your homemade desserts are thebomb.com)

I think we can all agree that homemade cookies take the cake, pun intended, when it comes to taste. In my vast experience of eating sweets, I’ve come to realize that homemade aren’t as pretty or as uniform as Chips-Ahoy, a gamble I’m willing to take.

Is this cake as yummy as it is pretty?

Is this cake as yummy as it is pretty?

Wedding cake is hit or miss. I can’t imagine baking a cake a few days in advance, icing it to artistic perfection and it still tasting soft and moist. My cousin Jen’s was, but it was baked that morning. I think as a bride, that could be a little nerve-wrecking, but as a party guest, I appreciated it.

On Pinterest, there are millions of cakes for every birthday, baby shower and wedding color scheme possible. They look awesome, but the real question is, what the heck do they taste like? Are the cakes stale by the time they are done being decorated?

Does this one taste metallic too?

Does this one taste metallic too?

Brides out there, help me out! Do you pick a beautiful cake for the photos? Are you more worried about the look or the taste? Why is fondant the nastiest of all icing, yet the most popular? Why? Why?

cake

So the question is, are taste and looks mutually exclusive in the dessert industry? No right or wrong answers.

I just can’t imagine the stress of someday planning a wedding if I have to make life choices like this.

Also, happy March ya’ll. That can only mean one thing… It’s time to start on the 100 miles! Join us:)

6 Responses to “beautiful desserts: delish or disgusting?”

  1. Beth Wade March 3, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    My rule is: if it’s covered in fondant to look pretty, it’s gonna taste horrible. I find the simple-looking stuff tends to be the best-tasting (though not always), because the emphasis is on flavor and consistency, not visual effect. I refuse to have a pretty, decorated wedding cake. Nobody is going to eat those sugar flowers! Give me several dozen delicious brownies instead! 🙂

    • smwhitney March 3, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      I’ve always wondered why brownies aren’t a wedding staple?? I’d pick brownies over cake any day!

  2. Robin March 3, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I think taste should always be the most important factor – I mean the whole point of a cake is that people are going to EAT it. People put way too much emphasis on every silly little detail of a wedding.

    • smwhitney March 3, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      Agreed! Usually I’m too busy dancing at weddings to eat cake.

  3. Abby ONeil (@AbbyLONeil) March 4, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    besides the fondant, wedding cakes are most often white on white. YUCK! I have always thought that maybe the bride just doesn’t care … opting to pick a cake that looks good on the table, assuming that most people will be drunk or dancing by the time the cake – which is actually just a centerpiece – is sliced.

    • smwhitney March 4, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      Agreed! Why they make any cake besides chocolate, I’m not even sure. I usually forget to eat it anyways.

Leave a Reply

