100 miles, 1 month

25 Feb

Imagine me singing, “If ya wanna go and take a run wit me… (to the tune of Nelly’s Ride Wit Me).”

Last year I ran 100 miles during the month of April. You can read about it here and here. At the time, I didn’t know if I would actually do it, so I kept it on the DL until about halfway though.

from Pinterest This time, I’m feeling a little more confident and I know I need the push of being accountable to at least my dad, who reads this blog. March has 31 days and April only has 30. That extra day and some previous commitments that are already on the calendar have led to me to choose March to make this happen.

This year Erin is going to join me! She’s training for a half marathon the first weekend of April and she’s also getting into wedding dress shape for this summer. Even though we can’t run together, I’m excited to share updates and encouragement with my main bride to be and bestie.

Her schedule might have more structure and intention and my 100 miles will probably be more in the spirit of “Git ‘er done.” We can share playlists and virtually high five.

Erin and I both run. That means we are slightly prepared for this. I run 2-3 times a week, 2-3 miles each time. I’m not in great shape, but I’m to the point that it doesn’t hurt and I’m not huffing and puffing. If you haven’t ran in the past month, I don’t think you should start this challenge. You’ll hate me after a week.

If you’re a serious runner, this looks like chump change to you. I cannot run 10 miles for fun, but know that I admire you all greatly.

One hundred miles in 31 days breaks down to 3.22 miles a day. Everyday. That doesn’t sound awful until the everyday part.

Last year I tried to do at least 3 miles every weekday and longer runs on the weekend. By the end of the month, 4 mile weekdays were pretty regular. I also usually took one day off a week for my sanity and my muscles’ sake.

My two real goals are to have 50 miles by St. Pats (March 17) and 100 done on March 31.

I’ll post about our progress here, but this is not becoming a running blog. I’m no expert and I don’t have too much to say about it, besides that I do it.

I’ve found counting the miles to 100 is motivating and lends itself to some structure without being too rigid for my packed schedule. Maybe you can do it too! Post a comment if you want to join us!!

100 milesDownload the PDF here.

 

3 Responses to “100 miles, 1 month”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. beautiful desserts: delish or disgusting? | call me shannon - March 1, 2013

    […] Also, happy March ya’ll. That can only mean one thing… It’s time to start on the 100 miles! Join us:) […]

  2. 100 miles… so far | call me shannon - March 16, 2013

    […] I told ya’ll a few weeks ago that I would be running 100 miles during March. Here’s the full post for more […]

  3. confessions | call me shannon - April 2, 2013

    […] to learn this too). Call Me Shannon was holding me responsible for finishing those 100 miles. I wrote about it, it was […]

Leave a Reply

