Decorating dilemma

17 Dec

I wanted to name this post: “How to decorate an orange family room for Christmas,” but that felt too long.

Here’s my dilemma, we have an orange and yellow family room. It sounds disgusting, but it’s actually pretty cute in real life. It’s rental property, so we didn’t pick. I really would consider painting a room in my (own, like someday I may own a home of my own) house orange. It grows on you.

However, it is not naturally complimented by red, green or any holiday metallic. So how do we decorate for Christmas?  Also, did I mention the three of us aren’t going to live here next year, so we don’t want to invest in a full-size lime green Christmas tree?

Here’s what we did. I collected all of the Christmas stuff from all over the house. I arranged it on the mantel and boom! We’re ready for Santa. Well, except there’s a sectional couch in front of the fire place, so I hope he know to use the front door.

Did this merit a blog post? No, but I’m feeling Christmassy, so deal.

IMG_0215 IMG_0218 IMG_0216 IMG_0214 IMG_0219I was not kidding about all of that orange. Here’s the dolls:

dolls 2012

Leave a Reply

