Ornament Exchange Part I: Giving

28 Nov

On my quest to find the end of the internet, I’ve stumbled across many a blog. Some are weird and share too many terrible photos. Others are awesome. I add the awesome ones to my Google Reader and the name of the blogger to my New Best Friend List in Google Drive (just kidding on that last part).

If there is one thing bloggers love it’s giveaways and networking.

One of the activities I got involved with this fall is a Holiday Ornament Swap. Erin over at Living in Yellow hosted this get together of blogging ladies (well mostly ladies) about a month ago.

We all submitted our names and blogs, got hooked up with a person to  give to, purchased an ornament and mailed to our new buddy.

Read more here.

After getting out hook ups, I learned Sarai was going to send some holiday cheer my way (more on that in Part II) and I was to mail to Shannon.

I know, what are the chances of that? Two blogging Shannons on the fast track to best buddom! Shannon and I exchanged a few emails, blog buttons and perhaps a guest post later on down the road.

After reading her blog, I knew I wanted to incorporate something beauty-related into her ornament. She’s really into being stylish and feminine.

I found this perfect ornament at Kohl’s on sale.

My mom loves to give ornaments as gifts. She searches year-round for the perfect ornament for someone’s hobby or yearly achievements. Decorating the tree each year is like opening a time capsule as we unwrap each ornament and talk about the year Julie got braces or Will was in cub scouts.

I wrote Polish + Sugar on her ornament, per family tradition.

Because it was on sale and I’m crafty, I also wanted to try to make her an ornament as well.

Shannon has a lot of nail art tutorials on her blog, so I thought I could paint an ornament using nail polish. I had a lot of purple nail polish (no surprise) and her blog is purple. One of them is really old, hence the nasty photo. No judging.

I bought some crystal globes at Walmart for a few bucks and experimented. Here are some pics from my crafting, I’ll let her post the final product.

I think it turned out fun. My only recommendation would be to use acrylics, not nail polish. Acrylic paint is runnier and can be watered down. Also, nail polish is more expensive.

I’ll post later this week about what came in the mail for me.

3 Responses to “Ornament Exchange Part I: Giving”

  1. Shannon @ Polish and Sugar November 30, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I loved the ornaments! Thanks for sharing how you made them too 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you got.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ornament Exchange Part I: Receiving « call me shannon - December 4, 2012

    […] Ahh the long-awaited sequel to my first ornament post! […]

  2. Friend Post: Holiday Fashion « call me shannon - December 10, 2012

    […] (Check out how she spells color. Why don’t we all do that?) You may remember her from our ornament swap. She is here to do something that I cannot: offer fashion advice. Enjoy and follow […]

Leave a Reply

