On being that girl

29 Aug

Grad school (aka 2 classes) is off to a brisk jog. There are a few little reading assignments, if you consider reading a text-book even reading, that I’m putting off and an online quiz! There seems to be a lot more junk living in my bag lately, along the lines of a notebook and mechanical pencils. They remind me of a past life in which I used to be a real student. I’m having nostalgia for days of walking all over creation between classes, giving tours and finding weird places to study and conveniently run into my friends.

Right now I’m just a fake student. Part-time, school, most of the time, work. It’s a delicate balance.

You can still spot me power walking on campus, trying to make it back to the office. I usually look a little sweaty and my ipod is almost always playing Beyonce or Lady Gaga so loud that I can’t hear you. Sorry.

On Tuesdays and Thursdays I have class on campus before work. This Tuesday I slept through my alarm which may be the first time I can remember doing that. Waking up to an alarm clock is one of my most wonderful talents. Secret’s out, I’m not a snoozer. Well, I woke up about 20 minutes before I needed to be out the door. Hurricane Shannon threw on a dress and made a pathetic lunch (leftover hot dog and graham crackers?) and pretty much olympic race-walked to campus to make it to stats (blah) on time. My hair resembled Macy Gray’s after a jungle safari. I would not be surprised if there was a twig in there.

In the theme of over sleeping, I have been having some weird stress dreams too. Grad students out there, is this normal? Most often, I’m running late for something in my dream (or in real life), other themes include bunnies biting off my fingers and being rejected from ALL the houses by the sorting hat. Woof.

One thing I’ve become really self-conscious about in the two times my discussion class has met so far, is being too active in the conversations. You know how some students never, ever talk. Well, I am the opposite of those students. I talk, a lot. Too much? I don’t know for sure. I just have a lot to say and I feel bad for the professor when we hear crickets. Uggh, I know I’m being that girl in class, but I just can’t stop. Is there a program for people like me? Behavior therapy? Online classes? What’s a girl to do?

Looks like a great weekend ahead with the kickoff of football season and my sixth and final wedding of the summer. Seriously, I am so good at Shout it’s not even fair.

2 Responses to “On being that girl”

  1. Lindsay Cochrum August 29, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    As a fellow grad student, I am so feeling this post.

    • smwhitney August 30, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      We took art together, you totally know that I am that girl. Hope all is well in Texas!

Leave a Reply

