Car Alarms

14 Aug

I live in the student ghetto neighborhood of my medium-sized college town. My address will remain mysterious because I am scared of creepers and paparazzi. It’s mostly renters, like myself, and people living in substandard living conditions on the cheap, not unlike myself. Think old sofas and boom boxes on the porch. It’s convenient without crown molding, if you know what I mean.

Because it’s so many young people, ok students, it’s a little more colorful than your average family neighborhood. We have weekly fireworks at 2am (I’m going to figure out who you are one day!). We listen to dub step at midnight. Often. Although we are a 30 minute walk from the football stadium, there will be a lot of tailgating this fall. You are most likely to meet your neighbors roaming around on the sidewalks at 10pm or 1:30am. There are slip n slides in the summer and snowball fights in the winter. Sunday mornings are littered with beer cans and pizza boxes.

All that being said, I do like living there. I’m going on my fourth year, so I can sleep through anything by now. And I walk everywhere.

This morning I woke up to the Wicked soundtrack, per usual, at 7:03. About two minutes later some fool’s car alarm starts going off on our street. I roll my eyes.

It’s a universal reaction to be annoyed when a car alarm goes off. People hear that beeping and think, “Geez, I hope it’s not me. I don’t want to go outside and shut that off.” Instead of, “Oh no! Did someone break into my car??”

We’re so over car alarms. Why do they even make them anymore? Just so people can find their car in the parking lot.

While I made breakfast, I told my roommate Jacque, “Someone needs to go out there and get that alarm under control.”

“I checked to make sure it wasn’t me. I’m driving my grandma’s car and I don’t even know what the alarm sounds like,” she said.

I ate breakfast to the beeping. As I walked out the door, locking it behind me, I turned around. Guess who’s car alarm has been going off for an hour? Oh, mine.

Don’t worry, the only thing in my car, the Thoroughly Modern Milly cd, is not missing.

Leave a Reply

