Now endorsing: Books on tape

25 Jun

((This blogger receives  no compensation for rave reviews. She would accept free things to review, if you want to send her cool stuff.))

My beautiful Cedar Rapids hostess!

People, I love books on tape, well cd, does anyone still use tapes? I love to read and I love podcasts, so I’m not sure why I didn’t do this earlier. I guess I was skeptical of not being able to physically read the words as well as being distracted by the road.

Two weekends ago I drove to Cedar Rapids, Iowa to visit my friend Kate and her family. We had a ball catching up and hanging out with her extended family. If you ever get the chance, check out Iowa. I endorse the Hawkeye state as well.

The ride from Columbia to Cedar Rapids takes about 4.5 hours through the scenic back roads of Missouri. The whole way, I listened to Philip Pullman’s “The Golden Compass.”

I finished it this weekend on the road to St. Louis (to catch a plane to Dallas). Being a world-traveler sometimes doesn’t leave enough time to read all the books on my list!

It’s a young adult fantasy book that tells the story of kids fighting evil in a similar world. It’s a great story and listening to it was easy after the first 15 minutes. It’s a cross between Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia. You should totally read it.

You should also try out a book on tape if you haven’t. I think a car ride that involves a lot of highway time or a destination you’ve been to before (so you’re not concentrating on where you’re going) would be best. Kate says she listens to books as she runs, so I’ll have to try that out soon.

2 Responses to “Now endorsing: Books on tape”

  1. Jennifer June 28, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Never tried a book on tape! Sounds like it would make my commute more tolerable though 🙂

    • smwhitney June 28, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      Jennifer- you should totally try it! Let me know what you think!

      p.s. I dig your blog.

Leave a Reply

