Happy Workaversary to Me!

6 Jun

Today is a day to celebrate! It’s my one year anniversary with the hospital! That means I can use as many exclamation points as I want!

It’s hard to believe it’s been a whole year since I was a wide-eyed college grad with no clue about adult things. Kidding, but I have learned a lot this year even though this is the first year in my memory that was not spent in school. The first time my life has not been divided into semesters or split by exams.  Weird.

This year has marked the breakup of me and my planner. Don’t worry, I still have a wall calendar and appointments through email at work. I switched finals for performance evals and my student id for a badge.

One morning I woke up and decided 7am and I would have to get along. It’s actually not so bad after 2 or 3 months. Business causal is doable, but I will admit I’ve shopped more in this last year than ever before. I’ve also made more money this year than ever before, so that’s ok, right? If someone could please invent yoga pants that look like slacks, I would buy enough to keep them in business.

I’ve really enjoyed learning my way around the hospital and it’s culture. The people I work with day-to-day are a lot of fun and I’m surprised by how much I am still learning.

This year has been pretty eventful, thanks to many events at work. We hosted a gala, a golf tourney, a week of tower openings, an awards banquet and a hospital week. I’ve written stories and edited videos about patients undergoing chemo while training for a triathlon, 4-year-old quadruplets, men with prostate cancer, Mennonite volunteers, kids exercising and tons more. I love getting to know people, whether they are patients, nurses or visitors and telling some incredible stories along the way. I’m so lucky.

Outside of work, I feel like I’ve finally found my groove. I’ve been reading tons, running, crafting and hanging out with my main man Jon Snow Josh.  I’m cooking os much more (and better) than I did as a student. This spring I began volunteering two nights a week, which keeps me busy and “involved.”

Of course the minute I finally figure out what I’m doing, I add some classes and a really busy summer to the mix. I’m excited to see what’s next.

Cheers to a wonderful year!

Leave a Reply

