I did it!

1 May

I did it! I did it! I accomplished my goal for April: running 100 miles.

Let me begin by saying I was an idiot. I thought for some reason that April 30th was on Tuesday, not Monday. When I woke up on Monday and looked at the calendar, I realized I needed to run 11 miles instead of a 5 one day and a 6 the next. Eleven miles? Shannon are you crazy? Crazy is probably the only word to describe it.

Because I am a crazy woman, I did it. Honestly, I ran 11 miles because I challenged myself to do it. Although it rained all morning, I ran on the trail after work. My shoes and socks were so muddy when I got home, but I needed a hill-less, easy to count 11 miles, so the trail was a no-brainer.

If no one was around when I passed a mile-marker, I usually did my running dance. I was glad to be alone for almost two hours (I finished in 1:54) so no one could see my struggs. The longest run I’d ever done before yesterday was 8 miles, so on miles 9, 10 and 11, so I got more and more excited. When I finally stopped running my hips were pretty sore and the muscles above my knees felt like rocks. Not in a sexy way. My toes also feel very tender.

I walked like a solider coming home from ‘Nam and I couldn’t stop talking for the rest of the night. Runner’s high? Maybe.

Today, I actually feel pretty good. A little stiff, but not as bad as I expected. I feel really proud that I did that.

I am so grateful and amazed by my body. I kissed both of my knee caps while laying in bed last night and thanked them for being so awesome and running 11 miles with me. I mean, that’s pretty cool that I was able to do that, or at least I think so. Now I think I could probably run a half marathon, not fast or anything, but I think I could finish without dying.

In two weeks, I’m running in a 5k, which will hopefully feel like a piece of chocolate cake.

In case you want to buy me a gift for competing my challenge, I’ve had my eye on this for a while… and it is on sale.

2 Responses to “I did it!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Almost famous! « call me shannon - May 18, 2012

    […] I am so thrilled she liked my idea and posted a link to my blog. This is a little bit similar to a dream senario where Beyonce compliments my dancing. Also, […]

  2. 100 miles, 1 month | call me shannon - February 25, 2013

    […] year I ran 100 miles during the month of April. You can read about it here and here. At the time, I didn’t know if I would actually do it, so I kept it on the DL until about […]

Leave a Reply

