Too late to apologize?

8 Mar

This post is a big ole “I’m sorry.” It’s about a particularly hot topic in my life right now that all of the GOP candidates seem to be ignoring: Game of Thrones. (Don’t worry, no spoilers)

First, I’m sorry to anyone who reads this blog. I’ve been introduced and enchanted by the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. I’m on the third of the five books published so far (eventually the series will be seven books total). You may have heard of the first book, Game of Thrones because it’s an HBO show.

I am sorry the series (books, in particular) are slowly taking over my life. A few of my friends and my dad are reading it too, which has been great having people to share it. It creeps into many of my blog posts. If you aren’t familiar with the books, then those nerdy references make no sense. For that, I am sorry.

I am also sorry for being less social and less attentive to this blog. It’s just hard to put the books down and each one is about 1000 pages. Yes, I stayed in both nights last weekend. Yes, I read about 200 pages. No, I’m not mad about it.

I apologize to George R.R. Martin (who has 2 middle names anyways?). Can I call you George? Well, I’m sorry George for being a neglectful reader. I’m sorry for all for the times my eyelids have drifted from the page and into an impromptu nap on the couch. I am sorry that the spines of your books are slowly getting bent up from being held open for so long. I really don’t like it when people bend up my books. I am also sorry I refer to the set as the Game of Thrones, not the Song of Ice and Fire. Maybe you should brand it a little better though.

This is George, in case you were wondering.

I am sorry to all of my friends who are not reading Game of Thrones who listen to me talk about it with our mutual friends in your presence. I know, it’s getting old. I’m extra sorry that I’m only on book three and there are at least two more. Hopefully I’ll be a fully functioning human being by summertime- well until George cranks out the sixth book.

I am sorry to myself that these books have been around for years and I just found them. It does seem a little sketchy that I came across them as the TV came out. But you know I am all about books before movies. You know I did not start watching the show until I finished the first book (first season=first book).

I am sorry that I use the appendix and the maps so much. Each book has a map of Westeros, which is the fictional island they live on printed in the cover or the first few pages. I look at it constantly to figure out where armies are going. Sometimes I think I depend on it too much, but most of the time I’m just really thankful it’s there. The appendix lists all of the houses, lords, kids, wolves, etc. The entire series has over 1000 characters, so I really do need it to keep the lesser lords straight and remember who’s related to who.

Daenerys Stormborn, I wish people called me "Shannon Stormborn"

My deepest apologies to my imagination for watching the show at all. Sorry that I ruined a few of the characters you crafted and now only see them as the people who play them on TV (notably Cersi and Jon Snow). I should not have done that. But the show is actually really great and very well done.

Sorry to HBO that I didn’t get into the show until after the whole first season aired. That probably didn’t help your ratings, did it? In my defense, I did have to finish the book first and I don’t have HBO (sorry about that too). I will make it up to you by watching the second season as it airs (at Stefanie’s house).

I am sorry that I had to use images from the HBO show to illustrate this post (None of them are my own, by the way- all borrowed from the internet).  I wish there was a better way to show you how cool the books are, but I can’t think of one. Also, I think you should watch the show too AFTER you read the books. Really people, there are so many twists and turns that you will be sad if you don’t get surprised while reading. I’m not sorry about that.

Here’s the deal: you should totally read them if you are not/have not already. It is fantasy, which is usually not my cup of tea. It’s also a war/political thriller which is not my first choice cup of tea, but I do drink it here and there. There are many characters, but as I mentioned above, there’s a great appendix. Each chapter is narrated by a different character, so it moves really fast. Also, you can read a 10-15 page chapter and then put down the book for the night. I think the first half of the first book was tough because I was getting used to the setting and the names, but it’s worth it- I promise.

I think the TV show would be hard to understand if you didn’t read the books, or watch it with an informed reader. There are many different characters and after a while they all look like dirty men. Take my word, read the book(s).

Sorry you read this post if you don’t care about Game of Thrones. Don’t worry, I don’t think they will become a regular subject here.

You know nothing, Jon Snow.

Leave a Reply

