Open air

13 Feb

Readers of this blog, I feel like I need to get some things off my chest and out into cyber space. I’m pretty sure I know most of you. If I don’t know you, I’d like to meet you unless you are a creep, then no thanks.

First off, I don’t like hummus or sushi. I know, I’m supposed to be healthy but I can’t get over the texture of hummus. Just can’t. As for sushi, well I think it’s overpriced and just a weird mix of tastes and textures. I’ve tried a variety of it on different occasions, still can’t dig. Sue me, I’m a cheap date.

Kate, don’t be mad at me.

I’m really getting good at waking up at 7:02 am. I thought I would hate that, but it’s ok. First thing every morning, I try to judge the weather by looking out the window and deciding how cold my face is. Next, I think of one thing I’m excited for that day. Sometimes my thought is about Erin coming in town, sometimes it’s about eating brownies for breakfast. Also, I hate snoozing. It just makes me nervous in anticipation for the alarm to go off in 5 minutes. Plus, I’ve been having a lot of bad dreams lately, so at 7:02 I’m ready to join the world.

I’m feeling better already.

I’m into memes lately, especially anything Mean Girls or Game of Thrones related.  Josh, my boyfriend (who really wanted a shoutout), thinks I should makes memes for him. Here are a few. Josh, if one of these does not become your profile picture, I’ll be mad. Theses are all things Josh has said to me.

I mentioned Game of Thrones before because I’m super involved in the Song of Fire and Ice series. Nerdy, I know but they are so great. When I heard Whitney Houston died, I thought, “She just read the Theon chapter of Clash of Kings!” (Too soon? RIP Whitney) Seriously though, the books are great and the HBO series is pretty accurate.

Washing dishes is my favorite cleaning task. Sweeping or moping is my least favorite. I wish I never had to go grocery shopping.

Know what I really hate? The phrase “illegitimate children.” I understand the use of the phrase and why it means what it means, but really? I think all children should feel loved whether born to a married couple or not, even if their lord dad won’t tell anyone who his mother is (that’s a nerd reference). Technically, all children are legitimate unless they are born into an adult body and their parents disguise them in baby clothes so they’re not labeled as “that family” on the block. In which case, we should reserve the term “illegitimate children” for them.

Right now our bathroom sink is not draining very well. We tried Drano and a clothes hanger, but they only helped a little. Good thing my dad is visiting this weekend. He’s an expert at removing clumps of hair from drains. Also, I’m pretty stoked in general to see my family soon!

I want to get discovered by Ellen DeGeneres. If you know her, please point her my direction.

5 Responses to “Open air”

  1. erinjoneilErin February 15, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    You called Josh your boyfriend on the world wide web.

  2. Rebecca February 22, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    I don’t care for hummus either!

    • smwhitney March 9, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      Glad to hear it!

  3. akrylix March 9, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    It’s Song of Ice and Fire, not Song of Fire and Ice. A REAL nerd would know that.

    • smwhitney March 9, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      That is embarrassing. Thanks for catching that.

Leave a Reply

