When I grow up…

7 Feb

My roommate Alexis is rounding out her last semester of college and EVERYONE is asking what her plans are for next year. She is applying for stuff now, but like most people in her place, she doesn’t have any solid plans yet. I remember being frustrated with the same questions my senior year.

So now I’m a grown up. By that I mean I’m no longer a student and I have a real life job. I thought those questions were a thing of the past but they still creep up into conversation. People love to ask how long I plan to be in Columbia.

Here’s the thing, I don’t know. Do I plan to stay in Columbia forever? No. Do I like my job? Yes, a lot actually. Am I looking for other jobs? No. Does Career Builder continually send me listings for positions that may interest me? Yes. Is it because I can’t remember my password to unsubscribe from their service? Yes. Do I read these emails? No, I have a job, I don’t have time for that. Do I think I’ll do hospital marketing forever? Probably not.

There, did I answer all of your questions?

Today, a physician was asking me questions about my job. Our conversation went like this:

Dr: Do you like your job?
Me: Yes, it’s been busy lately but I’m doing lots of exciting things.
Dr: What would you like to be doing in 20 years?
Me: Well, I hope to have retired by then and be pulling my mom on water skis behind my speed boat.

Ok, so I didn’t say that. But really? Is that a fair question?

As much as I really enjoy my job, I don’t think I’ll be doing it in 20 years. I’ll hopefully have evolved as a person and my career will keep up. I’m thinking about starting grad school in the evenings soon, but it’s hard because I’m not for sure what I want to study and therefore what my next career move might be. I know I really like healthcare and I’d like to work in a hospital.

I read that when considering a career, one should list the things they are good at next to the things they like to do and look for similarities. So I have this illustration…

20120207-212724.jpg

So my options aren’t looking good. Josh helped me with this one…

20120207-212901.jpg

So still, my career potential is limited. Here’s the thing- I’m not too worried about it. I’m only 22 for crying out loud. In 20 years, I’ll be 42 and Blue Ivy will be 20.

There are a few things that I hope to be doing when I reach the ripe old age of 42.

1. Pilates I hope I’m still able to do the hundred, teasers and a sideline series. My core will still be rock hard, don’t worry.

2. Lakehouse I wasn’t kidding about the waterski dreams.

3. Be a mom The next 20 years pretty much spans my window for childbearing. I would really like to have kids someday (in like, maybe 8 years). Right now I just mother a chia pet and an african violet. Both are doing well, thank you.

I don’t really know what I’ll be doing in a career sense, but I’m taking suggestions. Maybe Ellen DeGeneres will see my blog, invite me on her show and my blog will go viral just after I start charging for ad space.

I guess we’ll all be surprised.

20120207-214022.jpg

Leave a Reply

