My Best Blogs

31 Jan

I read a lot of blogs. Like, a whole lot. I love finding a new one and adding it to my stash. They creep up all over the place, people link to them on Facebook, other blogs, so many from Twitter and others are written by my friends.

The best way I’ve found to keep up with all of them is to use Google Reader. If you have a Gmail account, it’s one of the top tabs. It’s an RSS feed that lets you read all of your blogs in one place. It tells you how many posts you have to read (literally mine is always in the 300’s) and lets you favor them so you can find them again easily. Just think, it’s like one mega blog to help you stay on top of 60 regular blogs.

Ones I really like I repost to Google Bookmarks. There are other RSS feeds and bookmarkers that probably do similar things, but you know I love Google products.

So here are some you should add to your own feeder:

Hello Giggles

If you are a woman ages 18-25 you probably already read this. If you don’t fall into that category, you’re probably not very interested. It’s a mix of a little of everything, written by tons of women from all over the world. There are anecdotes, beauty tips, TV reviews, love letters, celebrity worship and much more. A lot of times I’ll read a really great Hello Giggles post and then blog about something similar.

Inspire Me Now

I don’t know how to explain this other than “cool stuff.” There is a lot of it on here. Art and design projects, weird inventions, furniture. Just neat things to look at quickly.

Postsecret

This is a community-based art project where the facilitator (Frank Warren) asks people to write their deepest secrets on postcards and mail them to him. He posts them on this blog. The secrets are updated every Sunday. It’s weird, but something about them is sad and wonderful at the same time.

Come On Iliene

This is a great craft blog by a lady who sometimes has too much time on her hands. She’s a great seamstress and her projects are sometimes a little too much for my skillz. Still, tons of great ideas and her posts about her bicycle-themed wedding were awesome.

Shots

Shots is NPR’s health blog. I follow it because I work in healthcare, but also because they do a great job bringing some big topics down to earth. In true NPR fashion, the reporting always follows up with how this change in pharmaceuticals or health law will affect me as a potential patient. It covers a variety of topics, including sexual health and mental health. I subscribe to a list of health and hospital blogs and this is by far my favorite.

Art & Design

Speaking of NPR, they bring all their art content to this page for my pleasure. I’m always looking for art blogs, but I’ve had trouble finding good ones that don’t belong to a specific artist. I like this because it’s got a lot of modern stuff as well as craft.

Ron [Paul] Swanson

If you love Parks and Rec, you’ve probably already found this. It’s Ron Swanson quotes over Ron Paul photos. So funny!

Kate Spade New York

So here’s the deal, on principle, I’m not into designer clothes/purses/shoes/etc. I just really don’t care. I do love Kate Spade because of its simplicity and color. This tumblr promotes their products a little bit, has photos, art and other fun little things. Just some inspiration and maybe some items for my christmas list.

Freakonomics

Brought to you by the authors of the book with the corresponding name, Freakonomics posts are similar to very short chapters of the book. These economists look at what’s going on in society and draw connections. They especially love sports and politics. A lot of times I just skim it, but every once in a while there’s a real winner.

Texts from Bennett

Warning, there is bad language and lots of inappropriate things on this one. This one is just iPhone screen shots of text convos the author has with his cousin, Bennett. The best part is Bennett is a seventeen year old white boy who thinks he’s a gangster. The spelling is atrocious and the content is raunchy, at best. Still, it’s totally worth a laugh.

Suri’s Burn Book

This is truly a classic, written by (not really) Suri Cruise, daughter of Katie Holmes and Tom Cruise. A la the Burn Book in Mean Girls, she trash talks all the other celebrity children in the tabloids and establishes herself as the diva child. She is really threatened by Beyonce’s new daughter and the possibility of William and Kate producing offspring.

I also read some mommy blogs, feminist blogs, weird art blogs and blogs of strangers who have unusual diseases. I know that’s kind of weird, but I’m really attached to some of these strangers. Feel free to share your blogs! I’d love to add them to my reader!

5 Responses to “My Best Blogs”

  1. Stephanie February 1, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    http://www.younghouselove.com…I feel like John and Sherry are my best friends. They can be yours too.

  2. Stephanie February 1, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Whoops. Space bar fail. It’s http://www.younghouselove.com

    • smwhitney February 1, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Ohhh I love it!

  3. Kamagra February 27, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    Wow!!!! nice blog. I too read mommy blogs, feminist blogs, weird art blogs and blogs of strangers who have unusual diseases and really they are awesome.

    Kamagra

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. blog lovin | call me shannon - March 6, 2013

    […] while back I did some blog loving when I shared some of my favorites. I’ve been meaning to do that again. Then Erin devised this linkup, and boom city, motivation […]

Leave a Reply

