Merry Christmas

23 Dec

Dear Readers, friends and random people from random places who put their differences aside to read my humble blog,

Thank you! It’s been a great year for me, as you may have read about here. I have to thank you for the page views and comments. I truly feel loved, even if it is just my dad refreshing the home page a few times a day. Thanks for letting a girl dream about getting discovered and going viral!

As a working woman, I am learning the ways of the business world. One of the wonderful practices of working adults is generic Christmas gifts to people who keep your business in business. I too will partake in this practice and give all of you a gift. No, it’s not chocolate or popcorn. I’ve eaten so much of both I’ve been giving my self belly rubs with the back of my stapler. Instead, I will gift to you some childhood studio portatis I found last weekend at home.

This is the first time these photos have been released on the internet, please enjoy. Merry Christmas, or whatever you celebrate. (The Whitney’s celebrate Christmas)

20111222-130605.jpg

This is from a dance recital circa 1996ish. Please notice my graceful pose and those tap shoes. My bright smile proves to you I’ve been a performer from the start. Also, this was the first year we got those long ballet skirts instead of tutus, everyone knows tutus are for kids.
20111222-130619.jpgClassic first grade Shannon from the round glasses to the bouquet of fake flowers to the printed sqort. Yes, skirt in the front, shorts in the back. Those were the glory days, pre-curly hair, so I could rock the bangs.
20111222-130628.jpg
Here’s Julie during her adorable years. I’ve always thought collars were her thing.

20111222-130638.jpg
Will usually wins best smile in our Christmas cards. The kid’s pretty cute.  Anyone who knows my family can tell you we’ve never had a house with a fire place. This is totally an Olan Mills backdrop. The year they threw away this backdrop, my mom almost cried. I wish I was kidding.

20111222-130654.jpg
Another Julie shot. This is a school picture, I’ll guess fourth grade. For the record, that shirt is totally a hand-me-down from me. I picked it out at Limited Too, clearly. I will not take responsibility for the headband.

20111222-130702.jpg
Who’s that cute kindergartener?? Me! I will not be surprised when you make this your cell phone wallpaper.

20111222-130709.jpg
Another school picture, probs third or fourth grade. It’s hard to tell because the sweater and turtle neck combo is timeless.

20111222-130718.jpg
One of my favorites. Will still wears that outfit on Easter morning.

20111222-130730.jpg
This photo inspired the show “Sister, Sister” as well as the sister song in White Christmas.

20111222-130736.jpg
I know, precious. Lynne Whitney was my stylist, she’s the best. No one coordinates hairbows with little girl clothes like she does. If you have daughters of your own, you’d be a fool not to call her.

20111222-130744.jpg
I was about three when this picture happened. I look really nervous and I’m not sure why. Look at Julie’s chunky legs!

Merry Christmas to all! I hope you get to spend some time with the people you love most:)

6 Responses to “Merry Christmas”

  1. Kaitlin Kopczynski December 23, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    This is so great! Sent me down Nostalgia Lane 🙂 For whatever reason I remember the backdrop of Limited Too-clad Julie to be from our fifth-grade spring pictures. I think that puts her in third grade? Just thought I’d help a sista out.

  2. Emily Vick December 24, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    This is a wonderful Christmas present, thanks Shay! Insightful and laugh-out-loud funny with a bow on top. Merry Christmas!

  3. Erin O. December 24, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Thanks for the new phone background.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Search Terms « call me shannon - February 22, 2012

    […] grade girl school portrait- Well I did post some killer pics in a blog post. I hope someone used it for something important and people all over the world are looking at […]

  2. I wore what?!? « call me shannon - August 23, 2012

    […] Some of you may remember my glasses from my second grade photo. […]

  3. Throwback Thursday « call me shannon - January 31, 2013

    […] Mae at Two Hoots and a Holler and Maddie at Thriftary  are hosting a little link up today called Throwback Thursday. It’s an excuse to share some embarrassing photos with you. Again. […]

Leave a Reply

