Social Media: Snow day style

4 Feb
snow day

On Tuesday night. This is by far the most snow I've ever seen!

I spent my first and only three snow days of college working from the couch. While most of my friends were watching movies and baking, I was assisting the newsroom by posting stories and Tweeting from home. It was exciting to watch our coverage unfold and see the fruits of Janet and Courtney from the newsroom.

Darren woke me up with a phone call at 5:45 am on Tuesday (MU’s first snow day) to tell me the website was hacked. Since bad weather had already began, it was important to keep the site up and current because we hosted KOMU’s list of school closings.

I looked at the Dremweaver site, but there was nothing there except a message from Sophia’s hacker group. Right away I called the developers and they were able to fix it in less then 30 minutes.

The rest of the day I posted stories and did little site maintenance. I got a steady stream of e-mails and texts from the station keeping me in the loop.

I tried to facilitate some conversation on our Facebook page by asking for photos and businesses that were open. Overall, it was semi-successful. I’ll admit most of the photos are from people I know and asked to post.

It wouldn't be a snowday without a little fun!

Two University Concert Series shows were canceled, so I had to update both the concert series site and the KBIA site to get the message out as quickly as possible. These announcements were really important to share, so I had to work as quickly as possible. Luckily, my internet didn’t have any issues.

My low point of the blissful three days was a little Twitter mishap… At KBIA we are asking listeners to show their support for public broadcasting, which is in danger of serious funding cuts thanks to a bill currently in front of congress. On group that has been huge in the movement is 170 Million Americans for Public Broadcasting.

I tweeted  “@KBIA If you loved KBIA’s snow coverage, you should support pubic broadcasting by joining 170 Million Americans.”

Accidentally leaving out the “L” in public. Ouch. Only two people tweeted back at us about it, but who knows how many people saw it. Kyle texted me later in the day asking if I was the one who tweeted it (lots of people have the ability to tweet for @KBIA).

I was so embarrassed. Luckily someone in the newsroom deleted the tweet as soon as she saw it. Now, I reread my tweets a few times before I post them! Little mistakes don’t matter as much for @shannon_whitney but @KBIA is a much bigger deal because the station and newsroom relies on the trust of the listeners. That will never happen again.

Leave a Reply

