The Final Semester

19 Jan

I can’t believe it’s almost over! Four, well three and a half, awesome years. I’ve learned so much and had the time of my life (dirty bit). Just 16 weeks to wrap it all up.

My class schedule doesn’t look too terrible. Two art classes (one art history-ish!!), personal financial planning (so I can learn adult things like taxes and IRAs) and Visual Communication (a photo-based journalism elective). Only 12 hours, which seems manageable.

That is until you add everything else I’m doing… I’m not complaining. Not even a little. I really do love everything I do. The activities and jobs and social things make my days full, but fun.

I just spent some serious time on my first ever Google Calendar. This is weird for me because I pretty much love all things Google (gchat, gmail, Picasa, Google Docs, Google Reader…etc.). Before today I didn’t think I needed a Google Calendar because I am loyal to my planner. I’m not sure what changed my mind, but I’m going to give it a try. Don’t worry, I’ll keep you posted. Here’s how February looks so far…

But after doing this for four years, well actually I was like this in high school too, I’ve master time management. I have a schedule and I stick to it. If I call to chat, it’s likely you can hear traffic in the background because I’m walking home. Luckily lots of my friends work with me, are in my classes and my clubs.

Since I’m spending so much time at KBIA this semester, I’ve decided to start my day there at 8am. It’s the only time of day I have consistently free. Not exactly the most appealing option for a second semester senior who rarely hits the pillow before midnight, but I want to make it work and I will.

Last week I talked to Jacob at Boone Hospital about doing some video work for them. I’m really excited for the opportunity to use Journalism as PR with a service aspect. I’m interested in learning more about the hospital and hopefully being able to tell some stories for them! I’ll get started towards the middle of February!

Here’s to one more and going out with a bang:)

Leave a Reply

