My story is not your commercial

29 Apr

Today I worked on a news wrap about the Rain Center and how funding cuts are affecting their programs. I spoke with the executive director and he sounded pretty disheartened. During the interview I could tell he really wanted to drive some donations out of my story. I’ve run into this problem more often lately than I expected. When I covered Oliver, the National History Day finalist, his dad asked if I could mention the sponsors. I didn’t write them into the story because of news judgment and I think that was a wise decision.

The other source I contacted for the STD story was the national CDC ( the State Health Dept was more interested in phone tag). The numbers of STDs always shock me, but I didn’t realize they track kids as young as 10 years old. Yuck.

Leave a Reply

