Soggy at 6:30 a.m.

26 Sep

This morning I got up at the crack of dawn (aka 6 a.m.) to trek downtown in the rain for the Roots, Blues & BBQ 1/2 Marathon and 10k races for MyMissourian. The races began at 7, so I got to the starting line at 6:30 to hand out my business card and tell people about our citizen journalism site.

Not so great picture of the starting line before the sun came up.

Not so great picture of the starting line before the sun came up.

Unfortunately it was pouring down rain and most people were huddled under umbrellas or around campfires. I felt kind of like a creeper but I approached anyone taking pictures and gave them my card. I realized quickly that the runners didn’t really care about anything except the run (fair enough), but their “fans” on the sidelines were easier to talk to- and they usually had the camera. I probably handed out 15 or so cards, so I hope to at least get a few e-mail submissions!

I love to run, but not at 7 am and certainly not in the rain.

Leave a Reply

