Swine for the Cure

16 Jun

We had an awesome weekend! It was our first full day off since moving in at the end of May. We went to Lake St, Louis, then ran in Race for the Cure and then more Lake on Saturday afternoon. I’ve done the Race for 4 or 5 years now and each time I go I’m still impressed by the sea of pink and the contagious smiles. Our group was racing for Claire’s mom who is currently fighting breast cancer. I was really excited that all the Swine wanted to participate, and I think Claire was too. Everyone woke up at 6:45 and wore our SW t-shirts. What a cool feeling for our close-knit group to be part of something so huge. There were 65,00 people downttonw for the Race, which raised $3.25 million.

After the Race everyone I talked to was all smiles and excitement. Corny as it sounds, I think it says a lot about our group that we spent our day off doing something like this and not sleeping out a hangover. Not that we didn’t have a great night on Friday.

Right now I’m doing laundry for the first time since May 23, which is pretty disgusting. Sometimes I wonder why I have any friends at all. For the record, I was planning on doing it Saturday night but I only had enough quarters for a wash and not a dry…

swine

Leave a Reply

